Thirst for Justice: A Novel
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Status
Available Online

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

More Details

Published
ECW Press, 2020.
Format
eBook
Language
English
ISBN
9781773054919

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

David R. Boyd., & David R. Boyd|AUTHOR. (2020). Thirst for Justice: A Novel . ECW Press.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

David R. Boyd and David R. Boyd|AUTHOR. 2020. Thirst for Justice: A Novel. ECW Press.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

David R. Boyd and David R. Boyd|AUTHOR. Thirst for Justice: A Novel ECW Press, 2020.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

David R. Boyd, and David R. Boyd|AUTHOR. Thirst for Justice: A Novel ECW Press, 2020.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Go To Grouped Work

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID8a783c62-87e4-8aee-ec3b-ccd8cdac7b3e-eng
Full titlethirst for justice
Authorboyd david r
Grouping Categorybook
Last Update2023-09-24 04:47:02AM
Last Indexed2023-09-26 03:42:15AM

Book Cover Information

Image Sourceoverdrive
First LoadedMar 10, 2023
Last UsedSep 26, 2023

Hoopla Extract Information

stdClass Object
(
    [year] => 2020
    [artist] => David R. Boyd
    [fiction] => 1
    [coverImageUrl] => https://cover.hoopladigital.com/ecw_9781773054919_270.jpeg
    [titleId] => 13376706
    [isbn] => 9781773054919
    [abridged] => 
    [language] => ENGLISH
    [profanity] => 
    [title] => Thirst for Justice
    [demo] => 
    [segments] => Array
        (
        )

    [pages] => 320
    [children] => 
    [artists] => Array
        (
            [0] => stdClass Object
                (
                    [name] => David R. Boyd
                    [artistFormal] => Boyd, David R.
                    [relationship] => AUTHOR
                )

        )

    [genres] => Array
        (
            [0] => Fiction
            [1] => Medical
            [2] => Nature & the Environment
            [3] => Political
            [4] => Thrillers
        )

    [price] => 0.6
    [id] => 13376706
    [edited] => 
    [kind] => EBOOK
    [active] => 1
    [upc] => 
    [synopsis] => For readers of John Grisham and William Deverell comes a political thriller ripped from today's headlines. Lawyer and environmental activist David R. Boyd writes a riveting thriller about the psychological toll of a humanitarian crisis. Filled with tension and courtroom drama, Thirst for Justice will have you questioning what you believe about right versus wrong.
Michael MacDougall is a talented trauma surgeon whose life in Seattle is slowly unraveling. Frustrated as an ER doctor and with his marriage in trouble, he volunteers with a medical aid charity in the Congo. Disconsolate at the lives he cannot save in the desperate conditions of the region, he is shattered by a roadside confrontation with the mercenary Mai Mai that results in unthinkable losses.
Back home in Seattle, he is haunted by his experiences in Africa and what he sees as society's failure to provide humanitarian aid to those who most desperately need it. Locked in a downward spiral, he becomes obsessed with making his government listen to him and dreams up an act of terrorism to shock his nation awake.
Activist and lawyer David Boyd's debut novel is a taut political thriller that begs the question: how far is too far when you're seeking justice? A legal and political thriller ripped from today's headlines. Michael MacDougall volunteers for a medical aid charity in the Democratic Republic of the Congo. Traumatized by his experiences in Africa, he goes down a path that he never would have imagined possible, resulting in a global manhunt and a riveting trial. David R. Boyd is currently the UN's Special Rapporteur on human rights and the environment and an associate professor of law, policy, and sustainability at the Institute for Resources, Environment, and Sustainability at the University of British Columbia. He is the award-winning author of eight books, including The Optimistic Environmentalist and The Rights of Nature. He lives on Pender Island, B.C.
Michael took a deep breath before turning to his next patient. She was the size of a two-year-old American toddler, although her head was disproportionately large. Big brown eyes, but vacant. Skin stretched over bones. Legs like two sticks hinged with a golf ball in the middle. He looked at the chart. Kapinga Kabobo was seven years old. Nineteen pounds. She should have weighed at least forty. The latest cholera outbreak had tripled the number of people seeking medical attention at the International Medical Assistance Foundation field hospital in Goma.

Michael had quickly become a staff favourite, his quiet confidence and warmth revealed in a broad smile and the crows' feet at the corners of his eyes. He opened the girl's mouth gently and used a tongue depressor to take a quick look. "Let's get this girl on a rehydration program. If she can't swallow, then use intravenous glucose and electrolytes." Perhaps startled by the foreign sound of Michael's voice, the girl defecated onto the dirt floor of the medical tent. The watery diarrhea contained flecks of mucous and epithelial cells the size of rice grains, a telltale sign of cholera.

"We also need some metronidazole. Add it to the iv drip please." He scrawled instructions onto the chart.

The girl's listless eyes fluttered and closed. She was fading fast.

"Come on sweetheart, don't give up on us now," Michael pleaded, unwilling to admit that she was probably too far gone. He checked her pulse. Rapid, way faster than it should have been. He took her blood pressure. Low and falling. There was nothing he could do. He held her hand and stroked her cheek, trying to offer some small comfort as he heard the last, rattling breath. Biting back grief and frustration, Michael closed her eyes. Back in Seattle he could have saved her life. Then again, back in the US he'd never seen a case of cholera and probably never would.

He knew that it wasn't really the disease.
    [url] => https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13376706
    [pa] => 
    [subtitle] => A Novel
    [publisher] => ECW Press
    [purchaseModel] => INSTANT
)